• Home
  • Excelsior Awards

June 25 2015

Excelsior Awards

2015 Excelsior Award winners






The Excelsior Awards have provided the Federation with an opportunity to acknowledge the contribution of five medical residents to health, wellness and their university and local communities. This year, the Federation received 21 nominations in five categories. Our congratulations go to the four recipients, Drs Géraldine Godmaire-Duhaime (AMReQ), Ji Wei Yang (AMRM), David-Martin Milot (AMReS) and Martin Kuuskne (ARM), and to the winner of the Excelsior Award in family medicine, Dr Louis-Charles Moreau (AMReQ). Each recipient received a certificate of recognition along with a cheque for $750.


Dr Ji Wei Yang
is an R3 in Internal Medicine at the University of Montreal. She is a strong believer in health promotion, and is actively involved in promoting health within various organizations: the health ministry of Quebec Seventh-day Adventist churches, Association des médecins haïtiens à l’étranger (Association of Haitian doctors abroad) and Groupe UdeM Haïti glaucome (University of Montreal Haiti glaucoma group). She gives talks in the community to raise public awareness of such health issues as hypertension, metabolic syndrome and sleep apnea. In November 2014, she co‑ordinated a 20-person mission to Haiti, with a view to holding general medicine and glaucoma-screening clinics in four locations, in conjunction with local Haitian doctors, in order to provide them with tools for their work. This candidate combined leadership, expertise-sharing and generosity.

 

 


Dr Géraldine Godmaire-Duhaime
is an R3 in Psychiatry at Laval University in Quebec City. A lawyer by training, she regularly organizes and collaborates in presentations on the ethical and medico-legal aspects of medicine. Her knowledge of Native and constitutional law acquired at the Quebec Ministry of Justice is a key asset that she places at her colleagues’ service. She also plays an active role in various bodies, including the ethics committee of the Laval psychiatry resident association and the faculty’s professionalism and social accountability office. She also organized a teaching half-day for psychiatry residents and professors interested in the ethical aspects of the Act respecting end-of-life care.

 

 


Dr David-Martin Milot
is an R3 in Community Health and Preventive Medicine at the University of Sherbrooke. He is a co-founder and current co-chair of Young physicians for public health (JMPSP), set up in 2014 in the wake of the changes introduced through Bill 10. This group comprises 10 or so medical residents, and aims to safeguard and promote the benefits provided by public health for Quebecers’ health, through social and conventional media. Dr Milot also created and co-ordinated international rotations on health system inequities, through the Médecins du Monde international network. His involvement shows a concern for his profession, and demonstrates his leadership and initiative.

 

 


Dr Martin Kuuskne
is an R4 in Emergency Medicine at McGill University. He contributed to the development of a simulation tool designed to perfect his colleagues’ knowledge. ResusHour is now an integral part of the training program in Emergency, providing more frequent exposure to resuscitation techniques for the Emergency Medicine resident team. He managed to obtain funds, in particular to buy a manikin and additional equipment. In November 2014, he organized the first simulation Olympiad in Emergency Medicine at McGill. His leadership and his communication and quality training promotion skills certainly merit recognition.

 

 


Dr Louis-Charles Moreau
is an R1 in Family Medicine at Laval University, training at the Manicouagan FMU. He rapidly made himself at home in his new environment, taking part in several sports activities, including the rehabilitation centre’s wheelchair basketball tournament, the 24-hour CrossFit for the palliative care home, and the Jeune Chambre de Manicouagan’s Journée Challenge 2014. His most striking project is a Montagnais language course which he organized, to help doctors integrate more fully into the community. Some 10 medical residents and practising physicians are taking part in this. It was for his initiative, leadership and concern for integration into the community that he won the first Excelsior Award for a family medicine resident.

25 juin 2015

Prix Excelsior

Les lauréats des Prix Excelsior 2015






Les Prix Excelsior ont permis à la Fédération de reconnaître la contribution de cinq médecins résidents à la santé, au bien-être et à leur communauté universitaire et locale.Cette année, la Fédération a reçu 21 soumissions dans cinq catégories. Nous offrons nos félicitations aux quatre récipiendaires : les docteurs Géraldine Godmaire- Duhaime (AMReQ); Ji Wei Yang (AMRM); David-Martin Milot (AMReS) et Martin Kuuksne (ARM). Le Prix Excelsior en médecine familiale a été remis au Dr Louis-Charles Moreau (AMreQ). Les récipiendaires ont reçu un certificat de reconnaissance ainsi qu’un chèque de 750 $.


Dre Ji Wei Yang
est R3 en médecine interne à l’Université de Montréal. La promotion de la santé lui tient à cœur et elle s’implique activement pour la promotion de la santé au sein de divers organismes : ministère de la santé des Églises adventistes du 7e jour du Québec, l’Association des médecins haïtiens à l’étranger et le Groupe UdeM Haïti Glaucome. Elle prononce des conférences dans la communauté pour sensibiliser la population à des problèmes de santé comme l’hypertension, le syndrome métabolique et l’apnée du sommeil. En novembre dernier, elle a coordonné un groupe de 20 personnes pour une mission en Haïti dans le but de tenir des cliniques de médecine générale et de dépistage du glaucome dans quatre localités, tout en collaboration avec les médecins locaux afin de les outiller dans leur travail. Une candidature qui allie leadership, partage d’expertise et générosité.

 


Dre Géraldine Godmaire-Duhaime
est R3 en psychiatrie à l’Université Laval à Québec. Avocate de formation, elle organise et collabore régulièrement à des présentations sur les aspects éthiques et médico-légaux de la médecine. Ses compétences en droit autochtone et constitutionnel acquises au ministère de la Justice du Québec sont un atout indéniable qu’elle sait mettre au service de ses collègues. Elle participe également activement à divers organismes dont le comité d’éthique de l’Association des résidents en psychiatrie de Laval et la Direction du professionnalisme et de l’imputabilité sociale à la Faculté. Elle a aussi organisé une demi-journée d’enseignement pour les résidents et les professeurs de psychiatrie intéressés aux aspects éthiques de la Loi sur les soins de fin de vie.

 


Le Dr David-Martin Milot
est R3 en santé publique et médecine préventive à l’Université de Sherbrooke. Il est l’un des fondateurs et co-président du groupe Jeunes médecins pour la santé publique, mis sur pied en 2014, dans la foulée des modifications apportées par le projet de loi no 10. Ce regroupement compte une dizaine de médecins résidents et vise à assurer la défense et la promotion des bénéfices apportés par la santé publique sur la santé de la population québécoise, par le biais des médias sociaux et traditionnels. Le Dr Milot a aussi créé et coordonné des stages internationaux sur les iniquités en santé, via le Réseau international de Médecins du Monde. Son implication démontre un souci pour sa profession et témoigne de son leadership et de son esprit d’initiative.

 


Le Dr Martin Kuuskne
est R4 en médecine d’urgence à l’Université McGill. Ce dernier a contribué au développement d’un outil de simulation destiné à parfaire les connaissances de ses collègues. ResusHour fait maintenant partie intégrante du programme de formation en  urgence en offrant une exposition plus fréquente aux techniques de réanimation pour l’équipe de résidents en médecine d’urgence. Il a réussi à obtenir des fonds notamment pour acheter un mannequin et de l’équipement additionnel. En novembre dernier, il a organisé les premiers jeux olympiques de la simulation en médecine d’urgence à McGill. On peut certainement saluer son leadership, ses habiletés sur le plan de la communication et de la promotion d’une formation de qualité.

 


Le Dr Louis-Charles Moreau
est R1 en médecine familiale à l’Université Laval. Il poursuit sa formation à l’UMF de Manicouagan. Il s’est rapidement intégré à son nouveau milieu et a participé à plusieurs activités sportives dont le Tournoi de basketball en fauteuil roulant du Centre de réadaptation, aux 24 heures Cross-Fit pour la Maison des soins palliatifs et à la Journée Challenge 2014 de la Jeune Chambre de Manicouagan. Son projet le plus marquant est un cours de montagnais qu’il a organisé pour favoriser davantage l’intégration des médecins dans la communauté. Une dizaine de médecins résidents et de médecins en exercice y participent. Ce sont son esprit d’initiative, son leadership et son souci d’intégration dans la communauté qui lui ont valu de mériter le premier Prix Excelsior destiné à un résident en médecine familiale.